Workshops

Workshop A | Tuesday, January 26
9:00am - 12:00pm EST | 6:00am - 9:00am PST

Employing PARG Inhibitors to Cause Replication Fork Stalling & Cancer Cell Death

Constitutive activation of the replication stress response (RSR) pathway and DNA damage repair system may prove to value therapeutic strategies for a range of cancers, whether in combination or exploited in improving chemotherapeutic efficiency through interfering with DNA replication to exert their functions.

This workshop will discuss:

• Delve into the fundamental challenges and opportunities
the replication stress pathway presents
• Inducing replication stress to activate DDR pathways
• Molecular mechanisms of replication stress

John Tainer
Karlene Cimprich
John Pascal

John Trainer
Professor
MD Anderson CancerCenter

Karlene Cimprich
Professor of Chemical & Systems Biology

Stanford University

John Pascal
Professor of
Biochemistry &
Molecular Medicine
Faculty of Medicine

Université de
Montréal

Workshop B | Tuesday, January 26
1:00pm - 4:00pm EST | 10:00am - 1:00pm PST

Target Validation in the DDR

Targeting the DDR is an attractive therapeutic strategy as
cells harbouring DDR defects can become reliant on other
repair pathways for survival. Identifying which targets are
most suitable for multiple cancer indications remains a
challenge.

This workshop will discuss:

• Discovering the context specific DDR targets
• Identification of cooperating targets drugs to further
destabilize for protection in resistant disease
• Biomarker specific vs biomarker agnostic
• Mitigating against off target activity
• What are the opportunities beyond oncology for targeting
the DDR?
• Ensuring target selection is tumor specific
• How can targets be narrowed down
• Identifying targets against multiple indications
• A target class approach to inhibit nucleases

patrick pilie

Patrick Pilié
Assistant Professor, Genitourinary Medical Oncology

MD Anderson Cancer Center